Bongeziwe Mabandla - iimini (Vinyl)
Bongeziwe Mabandla - iimini (Vinyl)
Black Major

Bongeziwe Mabandla - iimini (Vinyl)

Regular price €22,00 €0,00 Unit price per
Shipping calculated at checkout.


Tsolo-born Bongeziwe Mabandla came to the fore with his debut album, “Umlilo”, in 2012 and was hailed as the new face of Afro-Folk, effortlessly able to entwine Xhosa lyrics with traditional music and the Eastern Cape’s folk stylings to create something uniquely captivating. In the years that have passed since this release, the South African singer-songwriter has amplified his already considerable gifts and is now joining Africa’s most highly regarded musical exports in creating a global audience for the modern and uplifting world music he makes.

It was no surprise to his devoted large fanbase when Bongeziwe Mabandla won a South African Music Award (SAMA) for Best Alternative Music Album 2018. The award for this album, “Mangaliso”, revealed the ability of Mabandla’s music to stand out from the crowd, and be recognised for its unwavering originality. Mabandla’s soulful and emotional songwriting has earned him critical acclaim all around the world.

In Mabandla’s journey, from growing up in the rural Eastern Cape village Toslo to moving to Johannesburg to study film and becoming immersed in the city’s music scene, following his creativity to songwriting, recording and performing.

By singing in Xhosa-language, showcasing his meditative yet powerful voice, and encompassing the influences of his upbringing and culture, Bongeziwe Mabandla shares with us not just his talent but his cultural identity as well. His creative collaboration with producer, songwriter and musician Tiago Correia-Paulo brought Bongeziwe’s music to a new level, with expressions from a broader range of genres and influences. 


01 – A1. Mini Esadibana Ngayo (#001)

02 – A2. Masiziyekelele (14.11.16)

03 – A3. Salanabani (13.8.18)

04 – A4. Ndanele.


05 – B1. Zange

06. (9.2.17)

07 – B2. Khangela

08 – B3. Jikeleza

09 – B4. Ukwahlukana (#027) feat. Son Little 

10 – B5. Bambelela Kum (4.6.18)




Mastered by Rogan Kelsey

Mixed by Chris Born

Photography by Lidudumalingani 

Producer, Design, Art Direction by Tiago Correia-Paulo